Leave a comment

Chapter Three (bc)

This chapter emphasizes the style of writing online. I had always known that efficient, straightforward writing was ideal on the web, but had never considered it a catering to global audiences. Now I realize, reading this, that using colloquial language on the web is a risky move because it limits your audience. Other global considerations, like currency and date format are really good points that I had never even considered before. 

This chapter kind of worries me because I have never been an efficient writer. I tend to overuse fancy adjectives, commas and clauses. I guess I really will have to change my writing style to communicate digitally.

On a side note, Carroll references the MiniUSA site of a simple and scannable site due to its use of flash… but the website took over 20 seconds to load on my computer. I’m not sure if it was my computer or the site but it wasn’t as impressive as I had expected.

Carroll stresses the importance of clear navigation. He added a statistic that web users are much more likely to understand a horizontal navigation bar at the top of the page than one on either side or the bottom. His emphasis on how much more successful the horizontal navigation links were made me curious, so I looked online for a few examples. I found that I too think it is much easier to understand a web space designed this way, a surprising realization.

How much of a difference do we personally think navigation makes? Is it really as large a part of a website’s credibility as Carroll suggests?

Leave a Reply

