Leave a comment

Mission Impossible

I have been going back and forth about what I want to do with my life for years. For a long time, most of high school even, my dream was to join the CIA. After a lot of research and thought, I decided I wasn’t really willing to move around the globe at a moment’s notice, and decided the CIA wasn’t for me. So I pursued the only classes I had genuine interest in, classes in the Communication Studies department. This led me to look into a career in International Relations/Marketing, for which I even set my sights on a grad school program. But at the same time I never lost my interest in working for the Federal government.

After much internal debate about what direction I wanted my life to take, I was on the fence about dropping my political science major when I attended a speech by a U.S. Attorney. He spend a lot of time harping on his own accomplishments, but there was one thing he said that stood out to me. He explained how people will tell you to “do what you love if you want to be happy”. He told us those people were wrong. One day you will grow tired of your job, it will become dull and you will no longer love it. Instead, he warned, do something that you think is important. Do something that you think matters. That way, even when the thrill of doing something new and exciting has faded, you will still feel fulfilled, knowing that what you are doing makes a difference.

I really took this advice to heart; it was a perspective from which I had never really considered my future. It was about that time I set my sights on working for the FBI. It offered the same fulfillment that I had dreamed about in the CIA, but without the necessary commitment to live and work away from my family and in secrecy.

As of right now, my goal is to work within the FBI as a special agent. Communication Studies is, at least in my opinion, a necessary major to pursue in this career. I can’t always use facts and data to do a job right; I need to know how to talk to people, to research things- effectively, how to communicate. This major could make the difference between a girl who dreams about doing important things and a girl who really can do important things.

Leave a Reply

